The Old College Try: Youthful Enthusiasm Knows No Age


I think I say this most posts, but it’s late and I’m tired so I’ll try and keep this entry short… ūüôā

Today marks the end of the second week of classes–and a good start so far. ¬†I think what most comes to mind is the enthusiasm and hopefulness that I see from my students. ¬†Many are recent high school graduates from either last summer or only a few years removed. ¬†One or two are actually much further removed being older than I am. ¬†But the enthusiasm and energy is there all the same. ¬†And I have to confess that it’s catching.

I realize that some of this excitement stems from the desire for the product of college and not necessarily for the often-arduous journey that must precede the robed walk across the stage. ¬†Homework and hours spent study can dull the shine first seen in the beginning of the semester as each student realizes it will take a lot of work and personal sacrifice of time (and some sanity) to finally reach that stage. ¬†However, I that along the way… ¬†I’m able to help keep that excitement for a better education burning in them. ¬†I’d like to think I might be able to put together that one activity or set of lessons that really causes a break through, if not for all of my students, at least a few in each class.

Their enthusiasm for what they could become really drives me enthusiasm to help find new ways to get them there. ¬†I know for myself… I had a number of good teachers who did that for me–some in English, some not. ¬†So if anyone reading this is a student, then let me impart upon you one thing: ¬†if you want a better teacher, be a better student. ¬†And the same for my fellow teachers out there–if you want better students, be a better teacher. ¬†Who knows where mutual enthusiasm can lead us?

About fhelvie

I live in CT with my wife and two sons. I am also writing my doctoral dissertation, which is focused on the relationship between American literature and comic book superheroes. I have served as a panelist at a number of conferences discussing my research in comics, medieval literature, and pedagogy. Most recently, I had the good fortune to present at the New York Comic Con. In addition to my work in comics scholarship, I'm also a full-time professor of developmental English.
This entry was posted in The Old College Try: Year One and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

