The Old College Try: What I Make Teaching Developmental English


It’s late and I should be in bed getting ready for some sleep.  Tomorrow I’m teaching non-stop from 10-2pm followed by 30 minutes of office hours, a 90-minute department meeting, and what will amount to a 2-hour commute home.  Instead, I’m at my kitchen table and getting ready for my classes, part of that preparation amounting to a little “self-motivation” seeing as how the grind is beginning to settle in.  Oh sure, two of my three classes are still in possession of that motivation and excitement they brought with them a month back… but my afternoon class is already in full “grind” mode.  And let’s face it: That can wear a teacher down.

This is probably one of my favorite videos on Youtube.  I won’t lie: I’m personally responsible for the view count continuing to creep up.  But… I think it’s exceptionally valid–parents, students, and even fellow teachers need to know what it is we really make.  Let me know what you think:

I often listen to AC/DC to get pumped for a work out… but this is something we should listen to now and then before we work our students out.

About fhelvie

I live in CT with my wife and two sons. I am also writing my doctoral dissertation, which is focused on the relationship between American literature and comic book superheroes. I have served as a panelist at a number of conferences discussing my research in comics, medieval literature, and pedagogy. Most recently, I had the good fortune to present at the New York Comic Con. In addition to my work in comics scholarship, I'm also a full-time professor of developmental English.
This entry was posted in The Old College Try: Year One and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

